PDA

View Full Version : Old Student Hours

March 23rd 12, 06:18 PM
I was a student glider pilot about 25 years ago and advanced to the point of doing a number of solo flights before I had to give it up for various reasons, short of getting my PGL certificate.

I am retired now and after many years of flying Part 103 ultralights, I'm back on the path to getting my PGL certificate. I recently passed the glider knowledge test, so that is out of the way. I'm waiting for the season to start around here to start taking lessons again. And I recently acquired a nice sport sailplane to fly when I'm qualified, so am highly motivated.

Of course I still need to get current and practice again, but I had enough student glider pilot hours from the old days to qualify for the check ride now. But I was wondering if those old student hours would still apply, or do I have to start over building up the hours from zero.

I haven't hooked up with an instructor yet, so no one to ask. The answer to this issue will be a factor in deciding where I go for the training.

Any comments on the hours?

Thanks,
Jerry

Tony[_5_]
March 23rd 12, 06:31 PM
On Friday, March 23, 2012 1:18:05 PM UTC-5, wrote:
> I was a student glider pilot about 25 years ago and advanced to the point of doing a number of solo flights before I had to give it up for various reasons, short of getting my PGL certificate.
>
> I am retired now and after many years of flying Part 103 ultralights, I'm back on the path to getting my PGL certificate. I recently passed the glider knowledge test, so that is out of the way. I'm waiting for the season to start around here to start taking lessons again. And I recently acquired a nice sport sailplane to fly when I'm qualified, so am highly motivated.
>