PDA

View Full Version : Power-off stall recovery in Flight Training magazine

son_of_flubber
May 15th 14, 02:03 AM
AOPA sends me Flight Training magazine every month and they discuss 'power off stall recovery' on page 42 of the current issue. As a power-off-at-all-times pilot, I don't get it.

I assume that the purpose of practicing power-off stalls is to practice for the scenario that the engine quits unexpectedly, the pilot tries to stretch the glide and pulls back the stick too far, and then the plane stalls. It's time to recover from the stall.

So the article says:
"8.Reduce back pressure...
9.Almost simultaneously add full power. This is when rudder pressure is important. All that power will increase left-turning tendencies, so be ready with some right rudder pressure."

But I thought that the engine had died? Is this just training to pass the PTS? What if the right wing had dropped in the stall?

SoaringXCellence
May 15th 14, 02:15 AM
On Wednesday, May 14, 2014 6:03:19 PM UTC-7, son_of_flubber wrote:
> AOPA sends me Flight Training magazine every month and they discuss 'power off stall recovery' on page 42 of the current issue. As a power-off-at-all-times pilot, I don't get it.
>
>
>
> I assume that the purpose of practicing power-off stalls is to practice for the scenario that the engine quits unexpectedly, the pilot tries to stretch the glide and pulls back the stick too far, and then the plane stalls. It's time to recover from the stall.
>
>
>
> So the article says:
>
> "8.Reduce back pressure...
>
> 9.Almost simultaneously add full power. This is when rudder pressure is important. All that power will increase left-turning tendencies, so be ready with some right rudder pressure."
>
>
>
> But I thought that the engine had died? Is this just training to pass the PTS? What if the right wing had dropped in the stall?