PDA

View Full Version : Places to fly mid week after Oshkosh?

July 6th 15, 03:25 PM
I am driving the RV with glider in tow to Oshkosh next week, after, I am driving to upstate NY, are there any gliderports/clubs along the route that offer guest tows to visiting pilots? Maybe rv camping close, Say in the eastern Wisconsin, lower Michigan, northern Illinois, northern Ohio western NY northern PA areas? I won't be staying in one place too long a day/tow or two at most. Just want to see and meet other places/pilots maybe some xc :)

Being generally a western pilot I have little knowledge of places to fly on the weekdays in the east! Thanks for your responses!

Charlie M. (UH & 002 owner/pilot)
July 6th 15, 08:32 PM
On Monday, July 6, 2015 at 10:25:55 AM UTC-4, wrote:
> I am driving the RV with glider in tow to Oshkosh next week, after, I am driving to upstate NY, are there any gliderports/clubs along the route that offer guest tows to visiting pilots? Maybe rv camping close, Say in the eastern Wisconsin, lower Michigan, northern Illinois, northern Ohio western NY northern PA areas? I won't be staying in one place too long a day/tow or two at most. Just want to see and meet other places/pilots maybe some xc :)
>
> Being generally a western pilot I have little knowledge of places to fly on the weekdays in the east! Thanks for your responses!

I would go to the SSA website and look at their map of sites. Sorta easy to find places, then read up on them to see what they offer as well as contact info.
Where in NY are you planning to end up? Western, central, eastern?

Peter Smith[_3_]
July 6th 15, 08:42 PM
On Monday, July 6, 2015 at 10:25:55 AM UTC-4, wrote: