A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

PowerFlarm still picking up Transponder



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old May 31st 20, 06:28 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Jonathan St. Cloud
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,395
Default PowerFlarm still picking up Transponder

On Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 10:22:47 AM UTC-7, wrote:
Just a side note, the VT-01 is not capable of supporting the necessary SIL level for use as ADSB-Out in the USA, at least. Where are you located?


Didn't they advertise it was ADS-B out capable?
Ads
  #12  
Old May 31st 20, 06:49 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Tango Whisky
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 365
Default PowerFlarm still picking up Transponder

It is. I have the CAI302 Tx going into the VT-01 Rx, and it works well. There is no SIL capability however.
  #13  
Old May 31st 20, 07:06 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 77
Default PowerFlarm still picking up Transponder

If memory serves me correctly, without SIL 1 or 3, any of the large aircraft out there, and ATC, may simply ignore you. Better than nothing, but don’t you want to be seen by everyone? I’ll defer to Daryl Ramm who has been the resident expert on this stuff.
  #14  
Old May 31st 20, 09:50 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Tango Whisky
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 365
Default PowerFlarm still picking up Transponder

That is correct. But my aim was to have a transponder, and connecting the 2 wires didn't cost me anything. But then, you get what you pay for...
Where I fly (Europe/Alpes), Flarm is first priority, transponder second, and ADSB-out doesn't give you much. Airspace is configured such that you don't mix with heavy metal, and if you do, it's under ATC control with mode S.
Most of the time, it's natural separation - heavy metal don't like looking up at mountain tops :-)
  #15  
Old June 1st 20, 01:27 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 77
Default PowerFlarm still picking up Transponder

To the original poster. Look at the following starting on page 35. Did you enter your aircraft ID?

https://www.delta-omega.com/download...1Install_E.pdf
  #16  
Old June 1st 20, 03:03 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
George Haeh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 183
Default PowerFlarm still picking up Transponder

I don't see the ICAO code set in your config file.

I'm away from home; so, can't compare with my config file.

Perhaps somebody can post a config file that works with their Mode S transponder.
  #17  
Old June 1st 20, 03:28 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 77
Default PowerFlarm still picking up Transponder

It’s there, right at the top. AC2D0E and matches what the FAA shows it should be.

Question is if the VT-01 has that programmed?
  #18  
Old June 1st 20, 04:46 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 245
Default PowerFlarm still picking up Transponder

Did some how to debug experiments on my box.

If you power the flarm up with an empty flash drive plugged in and wait till no blinking for 60 seconds, what does it write on the flash drive?

Aside from a bunch of IGC's, mine wrote a .csv and .txt file.

Each showed the transponder id.

To debug flarm, I sometimes boot with a blank flash except for versions of this flarmcfg.txt to get it to dump the write info into a log.


################################################## ##################################
#Sets Default
#PFLAC,S,DEF

################################################## ######################
#Clears IGC Logs
#PFLAC,S,CLEARLOGS

################################################## ######################
# This allows you to confirm your settings.
$debug_out,fat,scheduler|config|baro|rf|gps|pffsm, all

################################################## ######################
# Writes a diagnostic dump (PFSSSSS.DMP) to the USB stick.
# Existing files with the same file name will be overwritten
# file is ?format binary.
#file,dump




  #19  
Old June 1st 20, 07:39 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
George Haeh
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 183
Default PowerFlarm still picking up Transponder

My mistake, I was looking for a hex string beginning with C0, Canadian prefix. Just reminded that it's AC in the US – until there's more than 64K registered aircraft in the US, or maybe there's already AB and/or AD.

  #20  
Old June 1st 20, 11:58 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Jonathan St. Cloud
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,395
Default PowerFlarm still picking up Transponder

On Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 10:49:59 AM UTC-7, Tango Whisky wrote:
It is. I have the CAI302 Tx going into the VT-01 Rx, and it works well. There is no SIL capability however.


So what functionality does that give you?
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flarm picking up my transponder Rob Cluxton[_2_] Soaring 31 May 7th 20 12:17 PM
PowerFlarm “Own Transponder Detection" Rate John Carlyle Soaring 18 July 21st 17 05:59 PM
PowerFLARM Transponder Alert Size John Carlyle Soaring 2 May 6th 13 04:33 PM
PowerFLARM Brick and PowerFLARM Remote Display Manuals Available Paul Remde Soaring 30 May 25th 12 11:58 PM
OSH traffic picking up Jim Burns Piloting 16 July 22nd 06 08:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2020 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.