A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

conversion to U.S. certification?

Old August 11th 14, 10:45 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Dutch[_4_]
external usenet poster

Default conversion to U.S. certification?

Hi,

I've been a certified glider pilot in the Netherlands for the past 20 years. I now live in the U.S. and belong to a local gliding club. It's gotten expensive to keep returning to Holland to renew my certification in order to soar here.

Would anyone know how to "convert" all or some of my Dutch gliding credentials in order to obtain a U.S. license? My fear is that I would have to start over from zero.

Thank you
Old August 11th 14, 11:10 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Cookie
external usenet poster

Your situation is quite common..

No, you don't have to start from zero! All of you pilot time "counts"...

You must meet the minimum training / piloting times as specified in the FAR's

You will have to take and pass the FAA written exam, and you will have to take and pass the FAA practical test.

You will need to get a certificated instructor to sign you off for the written test...and you will have to do a minimum of three instructional flights with an instructor within 60 days of the practical test, and have the instructor "recommend" you...

I usually make the candidate do a few solo flights...(not required)

More flights or ground school.. if you're not "up to speed" in the eyes of the recommending instructor.....

Cookie

On Monday, August 11, 2014 5:45:46 PM UTC-4, Dutch wrote:
Hi,