A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

§ 61.87 (i)

Old August 8th 20, 04:02 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster

Default § 61.87 (i)

Question for CFI-Gs

Was more or less told that I'm laboring under a gross misapprehension of fact by a newly minted glider instructor with regard to the above FAR.

I am new to sailplanes. Been flying since 1976 so I've probably been flying longer than this guy is old. Haven't asked, don't really give a ****.

But.....trying to keep an open mind. When I read the basis of the rule making and of course the Soaring Safety Foundation stuff it was pretty clear why they included:

"procedures for assembly/disassembly of the glider"

Or so I thought until the CFI-G set me straight. Apparently, fatal accidents, or the training that might prevent them, is something I've totally taken out of context. It's not an issue at all.

So.....things that I did notice -

Students who soloed without ever getting training on assembly/disassembly of a sailplane. Is it a huge deal if you're doing nothing but flying club ships? Maybe not. But that isn't what the FAR says. It's also not what several well written books on the subject (Some of which are actually sold by said club) say either.

Funny, in a way, but I have to use this quote -

"They should at least read the regs to be aware of what FAR they're violating."

Indeed.