A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Dry vs. wet sanding

Old February 16th 16, 03:30 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster

Default Dry vs. wet sanding

Is there any reason that PPG concept can't be sanded dry? I need to knock down some bad orange peel (because I'm still learning how to paint). I was thinking about using some 500 to knock down most of the orange peel, and then move to finer grits (wet) take out the sanding scratches before polishing. It seems like everyone is sanding wet, but why? It's much harder to see what you've done because everything gets covered with white goo. If I sand dry, I can blow the dust away and see what I've got immediately. I do know about guide coat and all of that, but I'm wondering what can go wrong if I make the first pass with 500 dry, and then switch to a finer grit wet?

Thanks,

John
Old February 16th 16, 03:48 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Andrzej Kobus
external usenet poster

On Monday, February 15, 2016 at 10:30:50 PM UTC-5, wrote: