A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Average time to solo a student

Old June 4th 18, 04:43 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster

Default Average time to solo a student

I'm a very experienced power pilot CFI & have soloed hundreds of airplane student pilots over the years. That said, I'm not as experienced as a CFIG.

I soloed a new student this weekend. He flew three solo flights & did a spectacular job. He has no former flying experience so he wasn't the typical add-on pilot that I'm usually teaching.

On line it appears in several places that the average time to solo a glider is around 40 flights. Is they information accurate? My student doesn't have nearly that many flights.

Opinions?
Old June 4th 18, 07:36 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster

I soloed after 25 launches. No prior flyimg.
Old June 4th 18, 11:08 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster

The last two or three I've soloed.. no previous flying were at about 25 flights.

JP
Old June 4th 18, 11:15 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster

The launch method has an impact. The longer flights associated with aerotow will probably mean a lower number of flights needed than with winch launching - but may mean longer actual flight time.
Old June 4th 18, 11:50 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Jim Kellett
external usenet poster

On Sunday, June 3, 2018 at 11:43:58 PM UTC-4, wrote: