A aviation & planes forum. AviationBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » AviationBanter forum » rec.aviation newsgroups » Soaring
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Cambridge 302 & PDA -- Value of adding Cambridge 303?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 28th 07, 01:46 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
V1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 21
Default Cambridge 302 & PDA -- Value of adding Cambridge 303?

I'm planning a panel for a new Ventus, planning to get a Cambridge 302
and a PDA. My question is to what extent also getting a Cambridge 303
(nav display) is worth the panel space and cost.

I recognize that a PDA can provide almost everything the 303 can do
and more, except for maybe better headwind/tailwind. So it seems 303
would be mostly for 1) backup in case PDA fails, 2) ability to show
navigation to two TP's at once (one via PDA, one via 303).

I've heard that many competition pilots who fly with a 302 and a PDA
also have a 303. I'm interested in feedback from anyone who flies with
this configuration -- what are your main reasons for having the 303,
and do you use the 303 regularly in cross country/competition
flights?

Thanks,
- Frank

Ads
  #2  
Old July 28th 07, 03:45 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
Mal[_4_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 39
Default Cambridge 302 & PDA -- Value of adding Cambridge 303?


"V1" wrote in message
oups.com...
I'm planning a panel for a new Ventus, planning to get a Cambridge 302
and a PDA. My question is to what extent also getting a Cambridge 303
(nav display) is worth the panel space and cost.

I recognize that a PDA can provide almost everything the 303 can do
and more, except for maybe better headwind/tailwind. So it seems 303
would be mostly for 1) backup in case PDA fails, 2) ability to show
navigation to two TP's at once (one via PDA, one via 303).

I've heard that many competition pilots who fly with a 302 and a PDA
also have a 303. I'm interested in feedback from anyone who flies with
this configuration -- what are your main reasons for having the 303,
and do you use the 303 regularly in cross country/competition
flights?

Thanks,
- Frank


LX http://www.wingsandwheels.com/page18.htm





  #3  
Old July 28th 07, 05:55 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
JS
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,384
Default Cambridge 302 & PDA -- Value of adding Cambridge 303?

On Jul 28, 5:46 am, V1 wrote:
I'm planning a panel for a new Ventus, planning to get a Cambridge 302
and a PDA. My question is to what extent also getting a Cambridge 303
(nav display) is worth the panel space and cost.

Thanks,
- Frank


Cost, very little.
Value, enormous.
It's always a good idea to have a direct link to the 302 built into
the panel by installing a 303 (or LX7000CAI?)
Biggest downside to the 303 is that the turn points are organized
numerically so you need to declare a task like:
1, 636, 641, 1, which involves a lot of scrolling. You DO know the
task is in the 302 when you declare it, though. And a 303 is far less
likely to crash or need the software reloading and unlocking.
Jim

  #4  
Old July 28th 07, 06:09 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
user
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 45
Default Cambridge 302 & PDA -- Value of adding Cambridge 303?

Nice to have a second display for what ifs. I find it very useful. Also good
as a back up nav aid and thermal marking. (I have a second GPS running the
computer.)


"V1" wrote in message
oups.com...
I'm planning a panel for a new Ventus, planning to get a Cambridge 302
and a PDA. My question is to what extent also getting a Cambridge 303
(nav display) is worth the panel space and cost.

I recognize that a PDA can provide almost everything the 303 can do
and more, except for maybe better headwind/tailwind. So it seems 303
would be mostly for 1) backup in case PDA fails, 2) ability to show
navigation to two TP's at once (one via PDA, one via 303).

I've heard that many competition pilots who fly with a 302 and a PDA
also have a 303. I'm interested in feedback from anyone who flies with
this configuration -- what are your main reasons for having the 303,
and do you use the 303 regularly in cross country/competition
flights?

Thanks,
- Frank



  #5  
Old July 30th 07, 01:23 PM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7
Default Cambridge 302 & PDA -- Value of adding Cambridge 303?


I have this same setup, I highly reccomend the 303 option.

Joe




On Jul 28, 8:46 am, V1 wrote:
I'm planning a panel for a new Ventus, planning to get a Cambridge 302
and a PDA. My question is to what extent also getting a Cambridge 303
(nav display) is worth the panel space and cost.

I recognize that a PDA can provide almost everything the 303 can do
and more, except for maybe better headwind/tailwind. So it seems 303
would be mostly for 1) backup in case PDA fails, 2) ability to show
navigation to two TP's at once (one via PDA, one via 303).

I've heard that many competition pilots who fly with a 302 and a PDA
also have a 303. I'm interested in feedback from anyone who flies with
this configuration -- what are your main reasons for having the 303,
and do you use the 303 regularly in cross country/competition
flights?

Thanks,
- Frank



  #6  
Old July 31st 07, 03:51 AM posted to rec.aviation.soaring
ContestID67
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 232
Default Cambridge 302 & PDA -- Value of adding Cambridge 303?


Biggest downside to the 303 is that the turn points are organized
numerically so you need to declare a task like:
1, 636, 641, 1, which involves a lot of scrolling. You DO know the
task is in the 302 when you declare it, though. And a 303 is far less
likely to crash or need the software reloading and unlocking.
Jim


The 303 is, as others have said, a great way to have to navigational
systems so that
you can work options during a contest. "Should I go to turnpoint A or
B next?"

I wouldn't use the 303 to create the turnpoint list for a task. Many
(most? all?) of the
PDA based systems will download turnpoints from it's database into the
302. Case in point
is Glide Navigator II (GNII). Easier to do this on the PDA ahead of
time in your easy chair
rather than in the glider. After transfer from the PDA to the 302,
you can always review the
task in the 303.

As to crashing, etc, It has NEVER happened to me with a HP IPAQ 2215
and GNII.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Cambridge 302 (AZ, USA) Ted Wagner Soaring 1 January 14th 05 02:55 AM
Cambridge 302/Cambridge 3UTIQ255 utility/ WinPilot/iPAQ 4155 Nathan Whelchel Soaring 4 July 5th 04 11:22 PM
Cambridge "V" JJ Sinclair Soaring 0 March 11th 04 03:01 PM
Cambridge CAV II Sam Fly Soaring 2 February 29th 04 04:54 PM
FS Cambridge 302/303 H201b Soaring 2 December 21st 03 10:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2021 AviationBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.