PDA

View Full Version : Komet Trailer

July 28th 17, 04:52 PM
Hi all,

I have recently taken a significant upgrade in trailers for my Libelle from a cigar tube trailer to a Komet. We adjusted it to go from a Discus to a Libelle and it is so much nicer to rig and de-rig out of. Trailers matter!

I have two questions, if I have to reweld a support bar on the clam shell and a small crack in the area of metal that holds the clam shell down during transport, has anyone had to re-weld some of there Komet, if so please let me know what steps you took.

My final question is what I should do to prevent water and other things from getting in between the clam shell and the trailer door in the back. I was thinking of putting a piece of wood in between unless someone has a better idea? Thanks.

https://ibb.co/j2dhh5 <--- Photo of gap in between the clam shell and trailer door needing to be weather sealed.

Ben Coleman
July 29th 17, 02:14 AM
I am far from an expert on these but have had one for a few years. I had a local welder repair a few spots and I believe he tig welded them. If hard against the fibregalss it will probably need some heat shielding during welding.
At the back your gap looks a little larger than expected but I could be wrong. There should be a hard rubber strip on top of the rear door for when it rests on the ground and a sealing strip (soft rubber) atrached to the lid to fill the gap.

Cheers Ben

July 31st 17, 07:02 PM
On Friday, July 28, 2017 at 8:14:25 PM UTC-5, Ben Coleman wrote:
> I am far from an expert on these but have had one for a few years. I had a local welder repair a few spots and I believe he tig welded them. If hard against the fibregalss it will probably need some heat shielding during welding.
> At the back your gap looks a little larger than expected but I could be wrong. There should be a hard rubber strip on top of the rear door for when it rests on the ground and a sealing strip (soft rubber) atrached to the lid to fill the gap.
>